Thank you, WordPress

Hello Amazing People!

I’ve got a new widget on my side bar and I honestly, really have no idea how I got here, but I’m just really thankful to the WordPress editorial team for picking my piece on 20 Signs You Really, Really Hate People and putting it on their Freshly Pressed list two days ago.

teary smile

So thank you, WordPress.

And when I say WordPress, I don’t just mean the editorial team. I mean the entire WordPress community of blog and website owners, who have been so incredibly friendly and encouraging in their comments.

I try to reply all the comments I get as far as possible, both positive and negative, but there have been so many that I don’t even know where to begin or how to respond. So I really hope this huge thank you here is enough.

justin timberlake ketchup thank you

If I’ve learnt something from this, it’s that WordPress bloggers are an amazing bunch who are incredibly positive, supportive and vocal, and I’m really really thankful for all of you!

Most of my real-life friends probably have no idea what the big deal about being Freshly Pressed is, but to me, it’s such a massively big honour. Because for the past few months, I’ve been looking at Freshly Pressed blogposts, reading in awe, and wondering how I would ever make it up there.

The posts I’ve read have always been able to touch my heart (yesterday I just read one that had me bawling my eyes out), and it’s nice to think that maybe my blog managed to touch other people’s too. Not in a boo hoo emotional get-me-a-box-of-tissues kind of way, but more like a haha-omg-this-is-so-true kind of way. And I really hope I managed to do that.

To my new followers, I really hope I won’t disappoint with subsequent posts – I’ve got a few ideas up my sleeve for the month of November, and I only hope they’ll be as funny the ones I’ve done before (I’m probably failing at that with this post right now lol).

Okay I’ve never been good at the mushy stuff, so I’m just going to end here.

Thank you, again! And since my posts this week aren’t at all funny (i.e. this and my 3 Days in Siem Reap, Cambodia), here’re a few funny gifs to kick off your week.

Goodnight y’all!

The steadfast penguin:

The biggest soccer first aid fail ever:

The Cat that thinks it’s Michael Jackson:

Stephen Merchant ignoring Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s handshake like a baus: 

 

Thanks for reading!

Follow me on twitter, subscribe to my blog via email for post updates (scroll all the way down or see sidebar for the form), or keep reading for more laughs and other cool stuff!

14 comments

  1. felt compelled to comment after reading this post to keep the encouragement coming! Your blog is hilarious, one of the first I came across on wordpress and the new posts still have me cracking up, keep it up 20something girl ;)

  2. Congratulations dear.It’s quite the task to get that widget but you’ve accomplished it! :) I love your posts by the way.You have a knack for humour.

    1. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! I love your blog too. Really amazing photos and you have great taste in clothes heh.

      1. Hihi..I’m flattered,Thanks! :)

  3. Laughter is more addictive than drama! For most people, life is tragic enough on its own. They don’t want to read about depressing stuff. They want to be entertained and they want to believe, for a few minutes, that this moment of entertainement made the rest of the day worth it. You made me laugh, so thank you for helping to me waking up with a smile tomorrow morning!

    Keep on doing what you do!

    1. Hahaha thanks! That’s exactly how I feel as well. Like life is shitty enough! So let’s write about the other side of things right? I’m glad I made you laugh heh. Thanks for reading :)

      Great commentary on meritocracy vs democracy btw. I’m not sure meritocracy necessarily surpasses democracy – different countries need different political systems, because of the way their government is structured, the citizens’ culture and way of thinking and other various reasons. But you’re right, it has worked superbly well for Singapore – but you forget that we do have a somewhat democratic voting system. As capable as our MPs are, they could be well be voted out during the next elections. We lost a few good ones in 2011, and we may very well lose more in 2016 :/

      1. You are right! There is no such thing as a true Meritocracy out there, but to be fair, there is no such thing as a real democracy either :) For me, the idea was to compare the best representatives for both ideologies. The land of the free (USA) as representant of Democracy and The Lion’s City (Singapore) as representant of Meritocracy.

        Thank you for your blog! And thank you for taking the time to read my post!!! It’s hard to get started on WordPress and for me, I get excited just seing 5 visitors on my blog :) I hope to reach your level one day!

        All the best,

        Mark

    1. Hehe thanks! Super cool blog btw. I’ve always been in awe of the biker scene in the U.S.! And Harleys and Heels? Whoa.

  4. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Your blog is great! Very funny posts. :)

    1. Thank you so much! You’re very kind. And thanks for reading ^^

      1. You’re welcome, anytime! It’s great reading blogs that are relatable and humorous. :)

  5. Congrats on this! It’s super cool and you flaunt that new widget girl!

    1. Hahaha thank you!!

Leave a Reply

