3 Days in Siem Reap, Cambodia

Angkor Wat Cover

I’ve been procrastinating on this piece for like a month now. I’m not sure why lol. But I do know why I really want to write this post – because Cambodia was really one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to and I really wanted to journal that experience before I forget it, as we so often do.

A little bit of background: I’ve been wanting to see Angkor Wat for the longest time but haven’t been able to, because 1) Most of my friends have, y’know, jobs 2) Those who don’t have jobs don’t have money 3) Even if they could make it, no one was interested in Cambodia (WHY!)

So I decided to go on my own.

But! PLOT TWIST! Unfortunately (or fortunately), Tim took that to mean I was blackmailing him into going with me (which I swear wasn’t my intention). So he decided to give in and accompany me on my trip in the end heh! So everything worked out great.

It was a really short trip, but I loved every bit of it. We took a Sunday afternoon flight there, and then returned to Singapore on a Tuesday afternoon flight, because you get really cheap air tickets that way and Tim would only have to take 2 days leave.

And we managed to get a really good hotel at a pretty reasonable price: Royal Crown Hotel, which we booked through Agoda. And everything about it was amazing. It’s very conveniently located – like a 5 minute walk away from Pub Street, and a 15 minute Tuk Tuk trip away from Angkor Wat. And the service was impeccable – our flight home was something like 5pm, so we asked for a late checkout and they were totally understanding and didn’t even charge us. All their staff members are perfectly cheerful and superbly eager to help, so it really comes highly recommended – plus it’s really affordable. Feel free to shoot me questions in the comments if you wanna know more about the hotel and I’ll try to help you as much as possible!

So, anyway, if you’re thinking about going to Siem Reap for the weekend and you’re not quite sure what to do there and where to go I hope this helps!

So this is it: My 3 Days in Siem Reap, Cambodia.

 Day 1 in Siem Reap, Cambodia >>>>>

9 comments

  1. Hi,

    Thank you so much for posting this. My cousins and I are going to Siem Reap this May 2014 and as early as now, I’m preparing for our itinerary. Just wanted to ask, would you recommend us get a tour guide when visiting temples? Or can we just get through it on our own? :)

    Thanks,
    Candy

  2. I love your blog and always wanted to go to Cambodia and in South East Asia.
    You might like this video on tips to visit Siem Reap in only 2 days which is complementary to your video : http://youtu.be/qkumhbeZVyE

  3. I love your blog very honest and informative,I’ll be there on june2014 alone but still i’ve no idea where to stay.. thanks to you now I decided to stay at Royal Crown Hotel and will bo booked also with Agoda. Btw any recommended guide book during the tour?

  4. aside from the temples, what other treasures does Cambodia have? I’ll be visiting by next year and I only got 2 days, so I want my time well spent. Any suggestions?

  5. Wow thanks for the sharing; it’s very informative for my dec free n easy

  6. Are you Cambodian? I always wanted to go.

  7. My parents went there on a mission and really liked it. They did say it was beautiful there.

    1. It is! Yeah my dad just went to phnom penh to visit a school as well. And he came back saying that it was his most moving overseas trip ever – and he’s incredibly well travelled. Amazing place!

  8. […] you, again! And since my posts this week aren’t at all funny (i.e. this and my 3 Days in Siem Reap, Cambodia), here’s a few funny gifs to kick off your […]

Leave a Reply

