9 Covers Better Than The Originals

Vintage We Cant Stop Miley Cyrus

Earlier this week, a Facebook friend of mine posted this vintage version of Miley Cyrus’ We Can’t Stop (see no. 1) which totally blew my mind and led me to waste an entire hour of my life on youtube lol.

And then I went on to watch more and more different covers of different songs and realised that there are so many amazing covers of pop songs out there that are just so completely mindblowing, I decided to compile a list of them – mostly for myself so I don’t need to keep searching out the songs individually LOL.

This list isn’t the entirely enough to cover all the great musicians out there, but it encompasses almost all of my favourites. So here it is! 9 Covers Better Than The Originals.

1. We Can’t Stop – Vintage 1950’s Doo Wop Miley Cyrus Cover ft. The Tee – Tones

Like I’ve said before, Miley’s craziness aside, I actually really like the song We Can’t Stop very much. But this version is such a great breath of fresh air. Like you would never think a risque song like this could be turned into such a classy sounding tune but there you have it.

And I really like the fact that the video is a whole lot more, shall we say, palatable than the original heh. Fair warning, though, you might get stuck on their channel for hours.

2. PSY – Gangnam Style (Acoustic Cover by Ra-On) 강남스타일 어쿠스틱

Gangnam Style was such a massive hit that there were naturally hundreds of covers popping up all over the internet. But of the few I’ve seen, this is hands down my favourite. Probably because the girl is so damn cute!

3. Somebody That I Used to Know – Walk off the Earth (Gotye – Cover)

This cover is brilliant for two reasons. One, there are five people on one guitar. Two, Gerard Butler is right there in the corner threatening to yell THIS IS SPARTA at any second.

4. I Knew You Were Trouble – WALK OFF THE EARTH Feat. KRNFX

Once again we have Walk Off The Earth here on the list. And I just can’t get over how hilarious the people in it are. It’s almost like KRNFX and hippie dude are trying to out do each other while the two guys at the back ‘ouhhhwaaaahouuhhhwahhouhhhh’ and the girl is just like ‘Oh get me out of here Imma keep this mic as far away from my face as possible in case one of these jokers hit it into my face by accident’

5. The Cup Song … GloZell

LOL Just kidding.

5. CUPS!! – Pitch Perfect – Sam Tsui, Alex G, Kina Grannis, Kurt Schneider

Yeah this is more like it.

6. CeCe Frey Sexy & She Knows It – THE X FACTOR USA 2012

This was basically the only season of X Factor I watched because Britney was in it (stop judging, it’s Britney, bitch) and Cece Frey is far from my favourite contestant but I had to admit that this cover was pretty awesome. Skip ahead to 2:55.

7. Carly Rose Sonenclar – Broken Hearted – THE X FACTOR USA 2012

I thought Carly Rose was gonna win but oh well. As Will.I.Am so aptly said: “She’s like a little caterpillar and then you think she’s gonna turn into a butterfly… Dragon! Scorching the town!” Word. And I love how she broke the song down into this slow, emotional piece that would never think possible if you just heard the original. Skip ahead to 1:48

8. One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful (5 Piano Guys, 1 piano) – ThePianoGuys

I love The Piano Guys so much that it’s really hard to pick which to feature, but I decided to choose the most creative of the lot.

9. “Titanium” by David Guetta feat. Sia – Christina Grimmie Cover

I can’t decide if I love or hate Christina Grimmie. Love her because she’s so amazing. But hate her because she’s everything I can’t be T.T

sobbing

I should’ve said this earlier but.. R.I.P. Headphone Users LOL.

 

Thanks for reading!

Follow me on twitter, subscribe to my blog via email for post updates (scroll all the way down or see sidebar for the form), or keep reading for more laughs and other cool stuff!

4 comments

  1. Where is Chris Brown’s Look At Me Now as covered by Karmin?

  2. After I read the title, I planned to comment and tell you about Walk Off the Earth covers and also Kurt Schneider’s version of Cups. I’m so glad they’re in this list! :) xx

  3. LOVE love love the Titanium cover – what an amazing voice she has :)

    1. IKR I am so envious of her!

Leave a Reply

