My Two Days of Internet Popularity (sort of)

Over the past two days, I had 550 views on my blog. Which is not a lot compared to other relatively famous bloggers. BUT it was more than I usually get in a week.

So I was like

Keanu Reeves Whoa GIF

And then I was like

Abed Cool cool cool gif

Okay no I was more like

Abed Excited Face

And then I sort of had no idea what I was going to do about it. HAHA.

It was a really strange two days for me. Because I had no idea how to react to it (classic Abed).

classic abed gif i need help reacting to something

I knew it would be short lived because the views had only shot up because of my piece on Huang Wen Yong, so my first instinct was to make the rest of my posts as visible as possible to those on the page, hence the new “Top Posts” and “Recent Posts” widgets on the right.

Rachel Glee Genius

And then, I pretty much just spent the rest of the day refreshing my stats page every half hour or so, and watching the numbers climb. LOL

It’s weird, because I never wanted this blog to get super popular though at the back of my mind there was always this thought, like hey, being a famous blogger wouldn’t be so terrible would it? I mean, that’s the whole difference in writing in a journal, or even a private blog, as compared to writing on a public blog right? The chance of being found, and knowing that someone out there might read and relate so you don’t feel so alone in the world anymore.

My very first post was on why I started blogging again, but those reasons could very well apply to a written journal.

I think a small part of all of us small-time bloggers are kind of hoping that we might get something out of this. Maybe we’ll write an amazing post one day that would propel us to stardom and we can just live off money earned from advertorials and reviews. We’re not gunning for it, we might not advertise our blogs on our twitter and facebook pages excessively, but a small part of us is hoping that our blogs will get somewhere someday. You know what I mean?

And I always knew that all it takes is one story to go viral, and then all you need is to jump onto that and keep churning out great content to keep people coming back for more.

But that’s where I got stumped. I don’t have a list of great topics to write about, so if the day comes that I do write something that goes viral, I’ll pretty much be a one hit wonder (assuming the post goes viral for good reasons and not made people go “geez this beetch is dumb”)

So I guess I’ll probably never be a famous blogger. LOL.

I’m not sure if there’s anything to take away from that post getting so many hits. Maybe it’s a hint to tell me what sort of stuff I should be writing about.

If so, it’s telling me I should write about deaths. Which is kind of macabre. And way too dark even for me.

If anything, I would rather be known for my wits and sense of humour, though from personal experience, I think my sense of humour is more unique than commercial. So that’s not going to happen. LOL.

So I guess I’ll always be just a number in the hundreds of millions blogs out there. But that’s actually kind of okay.

Katy Perry Oh Well Gif

16 comments

  1. […] very much like the first time a post of mine was shared on Facebook by strangers (read about it in My Two Days of Internet Popularity) HAHA I was so happy back then about 550 views, I never expected to get more than […]

  2. Haha yay! Thank you :)

  3. This post alone makes me follow you – an eye for an eye ;)
    I’ve only recently gotten very “into” my blogging – before it was just for my family back home – but these days I love finding stuff to blog about… I have bookmarked the Weekly Photo Challenge and the Daily Prompt for some inspiration when I have none (and unfortunately that happens regularly when my life has nothing on the go…)

    I guess I’ll be seeing much more of you in my Reader! And again, welcome to mynuttydubai too :)

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking it. Please stop by again. I appreciate the support.

    1. Heh I will :) Thank you for stopping by mine :)

  5. good post…glad i discovered your blog.

    1. Thank you! I’m really enjoying yours as well :)

  6. Dean Pelton’s pajamas just made my morning! Thanks for that :-)

  7. salsachica · · Reply

    Hahahaha that’s true too :)

  8. salsachica · · Reply

    I think deep down inside every other blogger out there wants our blogs to be a mega hit, and reach the “stardom” that will earn us $$ but heh I’m just pretty happy to write whatever my mind fancies, write what you love and the ideas will just flow.

    1. Hehe exactly! But it’s still nice to get a bit of recognition or acknowledgement, at least, for our efforts.

  9. […] a lot of time to doing research on making money through the internet. But as I mentioned in my previous post, I simply don’t have enough ideas to keep pushing out content to maintain a level of […]

  10. you are so cute, nat. <3

Leave a Reply

