Fish are friends, not food – unless you’re me.

So yesterday was Tim’s birthday! Yay!! *throws confetti*

We celebrated with a trip to the S.E.A. Aquarium, the world’s largest Oceanarium and a staycation at Resorts World Sentosa’s Hard Rock Hotel.

But I think the highlight was really our trip to the S.E.A. Aquarium. And like, I don’t know what the fuck was wrong with me. But all the fish just made me feel REALLY REALLY HUNGRY. There were lobsters and crabs all. *slurrrp* I think my stomach just took an excited leap there. HA.

So.. pictures! I shall post pictures!

This was our room…

Hard Rock Hotel Deluxe Pool View Room

I don’t understand why the first thing guys have to do when they enter a hotel room is JUMP ON THE BED. Like dude. Wait for me to take a picture first.

But it’s okay I got more!

Room Overview

Hotel Room CollagePhotos of The Police in our room! I kept annoying Tim by asking who they were.
“Who’s The Police?” “Are you sure they sang that song? I think that was the Beegees.”

Guitar amenity holder at Hard Rock Hotel SingaporeCool guitar amenities holder at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Bad PhotoWe paid extra for a pool view room. (Tim just lies down everywhere, doesn’t he?)
Was hoping for a balcony but apparently rooms with the pool view only had twin beds, but we wanted a king.

View from the room of Hard Rock Hotel Deluxe Pool Room View

But I think the most thrilling thing about the hotel room was this…

Welcome Ms Koh, Natalie on TV of Hard Rock Hotel Singapore roomTHE TV HAD MY NAME!!!! Hahahah. Now I know why Tim was so thrilled when the operator called him “Mr Nonis” at our last staycation. Simple joys.

So after we had settled down, we went down to the oceanarium. Which was so unbelievably amazing. It was only like a 5 minute walk from our hotel so that was good – because we’re lazy buggers, as you can see from Tim’s habit of lying down everywhere.

Shipwreck at S.E.A. Aquarium

Random fishes at S.E.A. Aquarium

Colourful fishes at S.E.A. Aquarium

Camouflage fishes at S.E.A. Aquarium

“Bet you can’t see me motherfucker.” This dude was just sitting there in front of everyone. Like mocking us for not being able to eat- I mean see him. Sneaky motherfucker.More colourful fishes at S.E.A. Aquarium

Okay before ya’ll judge me for the crappy blur pics. Can I just say.. DAMN THOSE FISH MOVE FAST.

But anyway.. you start off the oceanarium with small fry (geddit?!) like these. And Tim was just going onn and onn like “Where the fuck are the sharks?” “I don’t see no big ass sharks” “ARE THERE WHALES?”

But because it was his birthday, I had to be really patient with him and be all like “There there. In good time.”

So anyway, we moved on to this part where you get to WALK ON WATER.

Walking on water at S.E.A. Aquarium Resorts World Sentosa

(I included our feet so you can see that we’re ON THE WATER)

Walking on water again at S.E.A. Aquarium Resorts World Sentosa

Okay not really. You’re walking on a glass panel above the water. But still. It was pretty cool because there were some pretty neat fish in there as well as sting rays. And it was quite funny trying to snap a picture of the fish with our feet in the frame because they really don’t like staying still.

Then this was where things got interesting! We started seeing like real pretty fishes; there was a tank of starfish and crabs that you could molest (it had a sea cucumber too but I don’t think anyone wanted to touch that goo); and we got to see seahorses, crabs and other shellfish. Pretty cool stuff.

I think the scorpion fish was my favvv. Plus it was one of the few that didn’t look yummy to me. LOL

Pretty camouflage Scorpion Fish

Pretty camouflage Scorpion Fish 3

Pretty camouflage Scorpion Fish 2

It kind of has a dragon face. But it was so cool because it like tilted its head at us all “What’s up”-like.

Anyway, I’ve been cropping my portrait-shape pictures into squares because I realised that my new template forces all photos to expand to the width of the post, which looks better aesthetically, but is more work for me LOL. But I’m going to break my rule here. Because this part was like FWAAAAAHHH

FWAH Fish Tank at the S.E.A. Aquarium

So amazingly beautiful right? So many pretty fish.

But believe me. This is far from the real highlight of the oceanarium.

In fact there was an even BIGGER column later on that was like, I don’t know, 2 storeys tall (Nope still not the main attraction)? That was where we had our first glimpse of sharks.

Small shark at S.E.A. Aquarium

Small shark at S.E.A. Aquarium 2

They just swim round and round the massive column. And below them, like you’ll see when you go down to the next floor, is this school of massive shiny fish. They’re a certain type of Trevally, and look something like this:

Shiny Trevally(Credits to Shaun Killen Photography)

Tim says they can be found in Singapore waters, apparently. And you can catch them at Changi Point Jetty or something. I did some research and it really is possible! Just check out this page and ctrl+f “trevally”.

Anyway.. We had reached the most exotic parts of the oceanarium. Check out these giant crabs:

More giant crabs in the background at S.E.A. Aquarium

Giant crab at S.E.A. Aquarium
I don’t know about you, but I really started craving these:

Crab LegPhoto Credit

HAHA. I ordered them at lunch the next day at Harbour Front’s Sakae Sushi. Lol what is wrong with me.

In other news…

IMG_2701 IMG_2699

Jellyfish
Something I can't remember the name of at S.E.A. Aquarium

Omanyte

(OMANYTE, I CHOOSE YOU!)

Octopus at S.E.A. Aquarium

Okay you can’t see the last image very clearly. But it’s an octopus. It was really cool, because it was actually creeping the entire height of the tank, like from the top all the way down to the bottom, then, for some reason, tried to squeeze itself here in the corner.

I couldn’t get a picture of it when it was moving because there was a huge crowd in front of the tank and I hate people. lol. So I just waited ’til I could squeeze in before taking a pic. I think it’s the first time I saw an octopus though. Which was pretty darn cool.

Now. For the Grand Finale.

Massive Manta Ray at S.E.A. Aquarium

Massive Manta Ray at S.E.A. Aquarium 2

Massive Manta Ray at S.E.A. Aquarium 3

FWAAAAHHHHH.Dancing Manta Ray at S.E.A. AquariumIf you’re wondering what you’re looking at, it’s actually another manta ray dancing in the bubbles. It was just so amazing. There were bubbles because a group of divers had just descended, leaving the trail of bubbles behind. And the manta ray just swam right in and started flipping round and round gracefully. So amazingly cool.

Like I honestly never gave much thought to manta rays, because they’re well, manta rays. The only thing I knew about them was that one of them killed Steve Irwin and that was enough to make me hate them. (Okay it was a sting ray, but they’re in the same family so.)

But when you see them in here, you just can’t help but feel this overwhelming sense of amazement. They glide in the water, almost as if they were flying. And to see one of them dancing in the bubbles like that? Simply breathtaking.

So after we watched the rays and other fish a little more, we wandered off to another part of the oceanarium and caught a look at some eels, lobsters, prawns etc etc. But eventually we returned, and went into this small chamber with bay windows right by the manta ray tank.

There was only one bay window free by the time we got there, but lucky for us, a giant manta ray was hanging out just next to the window.

Giant Manta Ray

Giant Manta Ray

Giant Manta RayIt’s so cute!! And no, it did not make me hungry.

I think all the sea creatures at S.E.A. Aquarium are camera-shy. We tried to get a shot of us with Mr Manta here in the background, but it was next to impossible.

This was the best I could do.

Many Faces of Tim Nonis

I love how Tim is so stoned face. Like ALL THE TIME. I call this collage “The many faces of Tim Nonis.”

And here is a photo of me posing very reluctantly and looking a bit psycho:

UglyThis proves many things.

1) I hate being in photos FOR GOOD REASON

2) My iphone camera is clearly a million times better than his Samsung S2’s

3) Where the fuck is Mr Manta?

Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Unsmiling Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Hammerhead Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Sharks at S.E.A. Aquarium

Yesss and the sharks he was looking forward to! Yayy.

It was a really really good day at S.E.A. Aquarium.

We later had an overpriced meal at the cafe outside the oceanarium, took a walk round Resorts World Sentosa, then settled down for dinner at Imperial Treasure, where we had the best double-boiled chicken soup, xiao long bao, and some crazy ass pork cubes that were just. No words man.

Wow this turned out to have many many pictures. And took up a whole lot of time that I did not know I had.

I am so tired and bored of looking at photos right now. But before I sign off, I just wanted to show off the marshmallow cake I baked him hehehe

Marshmallow BrownieSuper pleased. Super proud.

Anyway, the S.E.A. Aquarium costs $29 for adults, and $20 for kids and senior citizens. I believe tourists get a lower price as well. If you’ve got a DBS/POSB or NTUC credit card, you get a discount. It’s open 10am-7pm daily. Ticket prices and opening hours may differ according to the month that you go. Visit their website for more information. 

It’s 1am and I’m tired. So goodnight!

Tim and NatAnd Happy Birthday Tim!!

Leave a Reply

